International Gandhi Peace Prize Winners for 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018


The Union government announced on January 16, 2019 the winners of the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018. The prestigious award was last given to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 2014.

The jury chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi unanimously selected the winners of the award.

Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari got the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2015 for its contribution in rural development, education and development of natural resources.

Akshaya Patra Foundation and Sulabh International shared the coveted honour for 2016.

The Gandhi Peace Prize for 2017 went to Ekal Abhiyan Trust for its outstanding contribution in providing education for rural and tribal children in remote areas at pan India level and for contribution towards gender and social equality.

Yohei Sasakawa of Japan was chosen for the award for the year 2018 for his contribution in leprosy eradication in India and across the world.

• The annual Gandhi Peace Award was instituted by the Government of India in 1995 during the commemoration of 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi.
• The award carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a citation, a plaque and a handicraft item.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here